About the Faculty


The Faculty of Graduate Studies was established in the University in January 1996 under Section 48A of the Universities Act No 16 of 1978. According to the Act, the Faculty is the Main Administrative Centre for promoting research and providing courses of study leading to higher degrees and other academic distinctions.

Its Mission of the Faculty is to produce high caliber professionals with knowledge and skills by designing and providing innovative courses, achieving excellence in teaching, research and scholarship  through local and global partnerships for the wellbeing of the larger community’.

The Faculty is headed by a Dean who guides the academic and administrative functions of the Faculty. Deputy Registrar/Assistant Registrar and Senior Assistant Bursar supported by clerical staff constitute the Faculty to provide assistance to students and the academics involved with the Faculty.

The Post Graduate faculty situated in the same premises of the University of Sri Jayewardenepura provides an ideal environment for intellectual activities, particularly in interdisciplinary areas. Its strategic location at close proximity to both Colombo and Sri Jayewardenepura facilitates obtaining the services of the experts from both the government and the private sector institutions amicably to enrich its programmes while obtaining services from academic staff members with postgraduate qualifications from some of the best universities in the world.

The academic programmes of the FGS are conducted by Academic Departments through 09 Boards of Study and these programmes are conducted in close collaboration with Faculties of Humanities and Social Science, Applied Sciences, Medical Sciences, Management Studies and Commerce, Engineering and Technology.

The Postgraduate teaching and research are coordinated by nine Boards of Studies ie. Humanities, Social Sciences, Life Sciences, Management Studies and Commerce, Medical Sciences, Physical Sciences, Multidisciplinary, Engineering and Industrial Technology each of which function under the chairmanship of a person of professorial rank or a senior academic which for operational purposes has an administrative unit under a Assistant Registrar and a finance unit under a Senior Assistant Bursar.